Dropbox today announced that “Pro” accounts, which pay $9.95/month, will get an automatic bump to 1TB of storage (from 100GB). Nice!
Even better, we’re getting new features like remote wipe for devices, and something I’ve wanted for a long time: expirations for shared links.
Once you send out a shared link, you no longer have any control over how many times it’s shared or used by those to whom you have not intentionally granted permissions.
They’ve also added passwords for shared links, which is nice for when you want to have a little additional control over stuff that gets out in the wild.
Granted, it’s still remarkably easy for a malicious person to push your files out to the world, so these are perhaps small blessings, but nevertheless, I feel they’ll be helpful.
Read the full announcement from Dropbox here.